Located in the far upper left corner of the Green Bar is what is currently called the "hamburger icon". It is this icon that provides a user the access to the spreadsheet View Settings available dynamically at run-time. If the spreadsheet designer has configured these options a user has access to change the spreadsheet at runtime and can save and manage these changes for later use.
Show View Settings
View settings are available for reports and spreadsheets. They are a group of options a designer may choose to enable for runtime customization by users. When enabled, a spreadsheet user is able to make dynamic changes to the way a spreadsheet looks and/or the data it contains at runtime. There are five areas in which a designer may pass control over to a user: grouping, report sorting, row filters, column visibility and cost and numeric column format.
When the icon is clicked the user has access to the following configurable options starting with Show View Settings at the top. When selected the user interface is displayed for the user to access the additional spreadsheet customizations.
View Settings: Group, Filter and Column – User Configuration Options
Group tab (User Can Group By):
If the EcoSys spreadsheet designer has enabled this option, the Group tab will be accessible. When configuring the spreadsheet, on the Group tab the designer may choose a column to be used as a default grouping. Additionally, on a column by column basis, the designer may check the User Can Group By check box which will give the user the ability to make grouping changes at spreadsheet runtime. Hierarchy Group By, if checked, will display the data as a hierarchy.
Columns enabled for runtime grouping will display in the Group tab at runtime. These tabs are seen above in the screenshot.
Filter tab (User Can Filter):
Using the Row Filter tab, the designer may choose which columns a user may filter on at runtime. Use the check box titled User Can Filter to enable a column for dynamic row filtering. Designers should not set an Operator and Value unless they also want a default filter applied to the column.
At runtime in the view settings, the options display in the Filter tab.
Columns tab (User Can Show/Hide):
On the Columns tab the designer may choose which columns a user may show/hide at runtime by checking the User Can Show/Hide this Column at Runtime option box.
At runtime, enabled columns will display in the view settings Columns tab with an enabled show/hide check box. This option is also found under the Display menu drop down.
View Settings: User Run-Time Views
User Views refers to the ability of a spreadsheet viewer or User to save one or more runtime customized views of a spreadsheet. It is available only for reports/spreadsheets in which the designer has explicitly enabled one or more of the customizable features: grouping, sorting, row filtering, column visibility or display changes.
Saved views do not contain data, only display related information. They are saved per user, per report or spreadsheet. There is not a hard limit to the number of views a user may save.
Once a view is saved, the view may be shared with other users. A shared view is actually a unique copy and not attached to the view from which it originated. Once a view is shared it may be renamed and edited. These changes are unique to the user that owns the new 'copy' that was shared to him or her by another EcoSys user.
User view options are available only when a report/spreadsheet is run from a menu, they are not available in preview mode from within the spreadsheet definition area (configuration area). Also, the options display only if the designer has enabled at least one of the available dynamic options: group, sort, row filtering, column visibility or display options. To access these menu options, click the upper left rectangle (hamburger icon) on the green options bar:
Save View As
Restore View to Default Settings
Hide (or Show) View Settings
As the name implies, the Open View option allows the user to open a previously saved view. Select the view name and click OK to run the report/spreadsheet with the view options applied or click Cancel to close the Open View pick list.
Save View acts as a short cut and will show the name of the last view and save changes to it. If no named view exist it will prompt the user for a name. View names may be 120 characters long, including spaces.
Save View does not ask for user confirmation if a view name already exist. It will overwrite the active view.
Save View As
Save View As prompts the user for a new view name. The view name may be a maximum of 120 characters long, including spaces. Click OK to save or Cancel to return to preview of the report without saving.
Manage Views allows a view to be renamed, deleted or shared.
The Share option brings up a pick list of users on the system. You may only share with one user at a time. If you want to share the view with multiple users, repeat the Share View option for each user.
Sharing creates a copy of the view to the other user's view list. It is saved with the name displayed at save time plus 'from user' where user is the ID of the user that shared the view. For example, user admin shares a view named Capital Projects By Location. This displays in the new user's list of views as: Capital Projects By Location (from admin). The shared view is an independent copy and may be renamed and modified, by the new user, without impacting the original.
Restore View to Default Settings
This option resets the current data preview to the original design options selected by the designer. It automatically reruns the report/spreadsheet, refreshing the current view to reflect those original options.
This menu option toggles the view settings to display or hide. When set to 'show' the configurable view options appear at the top of the preview window. Tabs available are dependent on options enabled by the designer at design time. One or more of the following tabs may appear: Group & Sort, Filter, Columns and Format.